The "L-Birds"

Piper L-4 to the Fieseler Storch: the "L-Birds".

In the middle of the bocages and beaches, the L-Birds fly slowly and low. They thus escape the firing of enemy fighter planes and those from the ground. Light and strong, the Piper L-4 and other L-Birds can land on basic tracks, in fields or on small roads.

Evacuation of an injured person in Piper L - 4
Evacuation of an injured person in Piper L-4

Liaison airplanes, ("L-Birds"), provided a fast transport for VIPs and cargo, to or from the areas of fighting. They also served as air observation platforms and assisted ground forces, provided information and strategic aerial photos. It is thanks to them that the concept of medical evacuation was developed. They were bringing first aid material and pockets of blood to the frontline, and evacuating wounded soldiers. They were delivering radios and ammunition to isolated soldiers, transport maps and strategic messages between the positions of commandments. They also carried Generals and other grades.

General Eisenhower aboard a Piper L - 4
General Eisenhower aboard a Piper L-4

The effectiveness of the Piper L-4, and other L-Birds was such that they considerably increased the potential of the forces on the ground, as well as the morale of the troops. When the Nazi command decided to grant a bonus to its pilots, for shooting down an allied fighter, they granted a double bonus to those who would shoot one of these small L-Birds, yet unarmed and made of tubes and canvas.

Unsung heroes of D-day, they are the first planes of the allies that landed on the soil of Normandy

Dumping of Piper L - 4 D - DayThe majority of the Piper L-4 that arrived in Normandy during D-day were transported by boat, disassembled with their wings placed against the fuselage. They landed with barges on the beaches.

Barge - D-day Piper L-4

THE U.S. Navy took them so that they could help from the very start of the initial invasion. One of the first actions of June 6th, after securing the beach, was to prepare a track of fortune so that the L-4, as well as the Stinson L-5 Sentinels that were to fly across - could take off and direct the fire of the Navy and of the Artillery during the breakthrough inland.

Quickly assembled, they first took off from summary tracks, as below, the beach of Grand Camp.

Grand-Camp takeoff of a Piper L - 4
Piper L-4 taking off the beach of Grand Camp

However, a formation of 5 Piper L-4, fitted with extra gas tanks, improvised with empty cylinders of oxygen, crossed the English channel,

alongside their leader Lt. Dave Condon, on board the Stinson L-5. Piper L-4 artillery They landed at St Martin of Vareville, near Utah Beach.

This first landing of an allied aircraft, on June 7th 1944, will be commemorated by a fly past by the airplanes of the L-Birds back to Normandy event

Close to the local population

Normandy Piper L-4 and arrived 1944 Americans Piper L - 4 and peasants in Normandy

Normandy June 1944 Piper L-4 in a field Piper L - 4 in Normandy

Because they landed on basic tracks and in fields, L-Birds pilots had, early on, a direct contact with the local population.

For many people in Normandy, it was the first time they were seeing a plane so closely.

Often referred to by the nickname of the most frequently encountered, the Piper L-4 "Grasshopper", or "Piper Cub", they still remain a strong memory in Normandy.

Piper L - 4 August 1944 Paris on the Champ de MarsSome of the pilots are French. This is how one of them took a few days off to take his American colleagues to visit Paris... by Piper Cub! One can recognize the No. 59 in the photo above, taken in Normandy.

The L-Birds accompanied the advance of the troops up to the end of the war. While the fighters and bombers were repatriated to the United States, these small airplanes were decommissioned on-site, and used for the training of thousands of pilots after the war.

error: Content is protected !!

Les « L-Birds »

Du Piper L-4 au Fieseler Storch : Les « L-Birds »

Au milieu des bocages et sur les plages, les L-Birds volent lentement et bas. Ils échappent ainsi aux tirs des avions de chasse ennemis et à ceux provenant du sol. Légers et robustes, les Piper L-4 et autres L-Birds se posent sur des pistes sommaires, dans des champs ou sur des petites routes.

Evacuation d'un blessé en Piper L-4
Evacuation d’un blessé en Piper L-4

Les avions de liaison, ou « L-Birds » fournissent un transport rapide pour les personnels et cargo importants. Vers ou depuis les zones de combat. Ils servent aussi de plateforme d’observation aérienne et sont utilisés pour ajuster les tirs d’artillerie, fournir des renseignements et des photos aériennes stratégiques. C’est grâce à eux qu’est développé le concept d’évacuation médicale. Ils apportent matériel de premiers secours et poches de sang sur le front, et évacuent les soldats blessés. Ils amènent radios et munitions aux soldats isolés, transportent cartes et messages stratégiques entre les postes de commandements. Ils transportent aussi Généraux et autres gradés.

Le Général Eisenhower à bord d'un Piper L-4
Le Général Eisenhower à bord d’un Piper L-4

L’efficacité des Piper L-4, et autres L-Birds était telle qu’elle augmentait considérablement le potentiel des forces au sol, ainsi que le moral des troupes. Quand le Commandement Nazi décida d’octroyer une prime à ses pilotes, lorsqu’ils abattaient un chasseur allié, ils octroyèrent une double prime à ceux qui abattraient un de ces petits L-Birds, pourtant avion non armé, fait de tubes et de toile.

Héros discrets du débarquement, ils sont les premiers avions des alliés sur le sol normand

Déchargment de Piper L-4 D-DayLa majorité des Piper L-4 qui sont arrivés en Normandie lors du D-Day furent transportés en bateau, ailes démontées et placées contre le fuselage, afin d’être débarqués avec les barges de débarquement sur les plages.

Barge D-Day Piper L-4

L’U.S. Navy les embarqua afin qu’ils puissent aider dès l’invasion initiale. Une des premières actions du 6 juin, après avoir sécurisé la plage, fut de préparer une piste de fortune afin que les L-4, ainsi que les Stinson L-5 Sentinels – arrivés en vol – puissent décoller et diriger les tirs de la Navy et de l’artillerie, pendant la percée dans les terres.

Rapidement assemblés, les premiers décollèrent de pistes sommaires, comme ci-dessous, de la plage de Grand Camp.

Grand-Camp décollage d'un Piper L-4
Un Piper L-4 décolle de la plage de Grand Camp

Cependant, une patrouille de 5 Piper L-4, équipés de réservoirs d’essence supplémentaires, improvisés à partir de bonbonnes d’oxygène, traversèrent la Manche,

aux côtés de leur leader le Lt. Dave Condon, à bord de son Stinson L-5. Piper L-4 artillery Ils atterrirent à St Martin de Vareville, à proximité de Utah Beach.

Ce premier poser d’un avion allié, le 7 juin 1944, sera commémoré par un survol des avions de l’événement L-Birds back to Normandy.

 

Proches de la population locale

Normandie Piper L-4 et arrivée des américains 1944 Piper L-4 et paysans en Normandie

Normandie Juin 1944 Piper L-4 dans un champ Piper L-4 en Normandie

 

Parce qu’ils se posaient sur des pistes sommaires, aménagées dans des champs, les pilotes de L-Birds eurent dès le début un contact direct avec la population locale.

Pour beaucoup de Normands, ce fut la première fois qu’ils voyaient un avion de si près.

Souvent désignés par le nom du plus fréquemment rencontré, le Piper L-4 Grasshopper, ou « Piper Cub », ils sont restés un souvenir fort en Normandie.

Piper L-4 Aout 1944 Paris sur le Champ de MarsCertains des pilotes sont français. C’est ainsi que l’un d’eux profita de quelques jours de libres pour emmener ces collègues américains visiter Paris… en Piper Cub ! On peut reconnaître le n° 59 de la photo ci-dessus, prise en Normandie.

Les L-Birds ont accompagné l’avancée des Troupes jusqu’à la guerre. Alors que les chasseurs et bombardiers furent rapatriés vers les Etats-unis, ces petits avions furent décommissionés sur place, et utilisés pour la formation de milliers de pilotes après-guerre.

error: Content is protected !!