Our Godfather, Kenneth Wakefield

Our Godfather, Kenneth Wakefield

We have the great honor to have Kenneth Wakefield's patronage of The L-Birds back to Normandy event

Ken Wakefield
Ken Wakefield

Kenneth Wakefield is both a living memory, a reference historian and an expert involved in the work of remembrance and support to young people who discover the world of the Piper L-4, and other L-Birds.

Kenneth Wakefield was 16 years old in 1944, when an American camp of L-Birds of the First US Army moved close to his home, in Bristol.
He discovered the Piper Cubs and other L-Birds.
This shaped the rest of his life: he became a pilot in the RAF, then at British Airways, reaching a very high level of command. But he has also become the world expert on the subject of WWII liaison aircraft. Any restorer, before starting his project, begins today by reading the 'books of Ken'.
Always happy to help and with extreme kindness, Ken Wakefield has advised hundreds of pilots, restaurant owners, but also families of veterans, to connect the present with the past, remember its lessons, and above all, to contribute to the duty of memory without breach or compromise.

The best-known books of Ken Wakefield:

Notre parrain, Kenneth Wakefield

Notre parrain, Kenneth Wakefield

Nous avons le grand honneur d’avoir Kenneth Wakefield pour parrain de L-Birds back to Normandy.

Ken Wakefield
Ken Wakefield

Kenneth Wakefield est à la fois mémoire vivante, historien de référence et expert tout aussi investi dans un travail de mémoire que dans le support aux jeunes qui découvrent le monde des Piper L-4, et autres L-Birds.

Kenneth Wakefield avait 16 ans en 1944, quand un camp américain de L-Birds de la First US Army s’est installé près de chez lui, à Bristol.
Il a ainsi découvert les Piper Cubs et autres L-Birds.
Cela a défini le reste de sa vie : il est devenu pilote dans la RAF, puis chez British Airways, atteignant un très haut niveau de commandement . Mais il est aussi devenu l’expert mondial sur le sujet des avions de liaison de la deuxième guerre mondiale. Tout restaurateur, avant de commencer ses travaux, débute aujourd’hui en lisant les « livres de Ken ».
D’une disponibilité et bienveillance extrêmes, Ken Wakefield a aidé des centaines de pilotes, restaurateurs, mais aussi familles de vétérans, à connecter le présent avec le passé, à en tirer les meilleures leçons, et surtout, à ouvrer pour un travail de mémoire sans faille ni compromis.

 

Les livres de Ken Wakefield les plus connus :

 

 

error: Content is protected !!